20 January, 2021

Regional Centre

Jodhpur is the second largest city in Rajasthan. Jodhpur was founded in 1459 by Rao Jodha, Jodhpur (Marwar), is also known as the "Sun City". It is a popular tourist destination, featuring many palaces, forts and temples, set in the stark landscape of the Thar Desert.
Thar Desert also belongs to western part of Rajasthan which has some major districts like Jodhpur, Jaisalmer, Barmer and Bikaner and also having 1303 km of international border. Though it covers a vast geographical area the density of population in these areas is low.
IGNOU Regional Centre, Jodhpur was bifurcated from IGNOU Regional Centre, Jaipur in May 2011 and admission were started from July 2012 Session. At present there are two Regional Centres in Rajasthan, RC Jaipur and RC Jodhpur. The Regional Centre, Jodhpur covers 13 districts of Western & Southern Rajasthan – Jodhpur, Barmer, Jaisalmer, Rajasmand, Udaipur, Bikaner, Jalore, Sirohi, Nagour, Dungarpur, Pali, Pratapgarh & Banswara. The main objective of this Regional Centre is to fulfill the educational needs of the society and providing quality education at the door steps of the learners. Regional Centre Jodhpur is offering different programmes like Master, Bachelors, PG Diploma, PG Certificate, Diploma, Certificates and Awareness programmes for the development of the society with the objective of national development.
Presently, IGNOU Regional Centre, Jodhpur is also making positive efforts to ensure the success of the ambitious project of Govt. of India i.e. Skill and Entrepreneurship Development with the collaboration of Commissionerate, College Education, Govt. of Rajasthan. IGNOU is being enrolled the regular students studying in the government colleges and providing employment opportunities through skill develop. Under which about 4000 students have been admitted. In this way IGNOU Regional Center Jodhpur is committed to make the project successful.
There are a total of 34 Learners Support Centres under RC Jodhpur which include 16 Regular Study Centres, 13 Programme Study Centres and 5 Special Study Centres including 3 Jail Centres, a study center for the minority and other one for woman.